Easy Access

South Orange News

Created: May 17, 2011

South Orange Voters Elect New Village President

On Tuesday, May 10, 2011, South Orange Voters elected Alex Torpey as their new Village President.  In this very close race, newly-elected Village President Torpey won the election by 14 votes.  A total of 1402 votes were cast for Village President, with Village President Torpey receiving 706, or 50.36% of the votes.

Trustees Deborah Davis Ford, Howard Levison and Mark Rosner, all running unopposed, were re-elected for four-year terms.  A total of 2717 votes were cast for these seats, including 81 write-in ballots.  Trustee Davis Ford received the highest number of votes with 894, followed by Trustee Levison with 879, and Trustee Rosner received 863 total votes.

Our congratulations go to all of this election’s winners, and our appreciation for their community spirit and willingness to give their own time to the Village that is so important to us is immeasurable.